I think there are a few types of boyfriends/girlfriends of diabeteic’s.

  • Those who don’t know or care to know anything about it. Ignorance is bliss I suppose.
  • Those who know their partner have diabetes but leaves them to it.
  • And those who grab the load and help carry it

I never knew that their were people out there who would want to be in as much of the planning and care taking as my parents did as I was a kid. Kam defiantly surprised me! Here are just a FEW of the things Kam does daily to ‘Grab it and help carry the load’

  • Asks me: ‘Hows the sugars today?!’
  • Tells me it would be a good idea to check my sugar when I am being lazy
  • Knows the complications and is respectful about talking about them
  • Knows how to work my glucagon
  • Brings insulin to work when I am forgetful
  • Is able to prick my finger on his own
  • Sets his alarm and helps me wake up when my sugar is lower before bed.
  • Understands and helps me get through my Sugar high/low Mood swings. (Which probably has to be one of the hardest things to do. When I am being unseasonable you cannot tell me to check my sugar! I would freak out!! Haha so he bares it and subtle asks about my sugars when I am calm)
  • Worries!! When I sleep, about the future, while driving!

A lot right? It is a big list, but not even half of what he does to help me get through everyday!
Thank you for everything you do babes, I love you!

XoXo, Blondie.

